top of page

Can you hear that? Listen.


 

And the author simply says, Can you hear me now?

The streets are full. The people hurry by and I can hear the endless chatter all around me. Someone just blew their horn as the car made it's way through the immense crowd. The lady at the newspaper stand argued that he owed her more than a buck nintey. Two children chase their mother, one screaming, "Mom, Timmy just hit me," as she reproves them for their inappropriate behavior. A man rides by on his bike and I can hear his tires oscillating on the dirty, street pavement next to me.

As I looked ahead, through the back street, I began to notice. Just ahead, lies only more of the same blustering crowd, with the noises that one can only seem to find, in this city.

It can be hard to focus on the immediate conversation before me, because I have a way of "hearing things this way," as Willow Hope explains. She simply says, "listen to my voice, focus on the sounds. I want you to see how that feels, how it feels to hear like me." Her deomonstration closes all visual activity and provides a simple black screen, without distraction. Can you hear that? Now listen again.

By Memory Ann Forwalt (Chadwell)

[03/23/2016]

Hope, W. (2014, April 29). What Is It Like To Have Asperger Syndrome? Retrieved March 13, 2016, from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ECU8y5i7osY.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic

MF

bottom of page